Club History

  • PDF

Soccer has been a major sport in Clonmel since the turn of the last century with various clubs representing Clonmel down through the years. The club was formed on 23rd April 1963, with 'Bohemians Clonmel' being adopted as the name of the club. In their first season Clonmel Bohemians won the Tipperary league. From 1966 onwards the club competed in the Waterford league and in 1968 won the Munster Junior Cup. 1973 saw the club move into Senior Football. In 1976 the club decided to change their name to Clonmel Town F.C. in order to promote an affinity with the town. During the 1981/82 season Clonmel Town were runners up to Cobh Ramblers in the Munster Senior League and also lost out to Ramblers in the Final of the Munster Senior Cup. In 1986 the club won the Munster Junior Cup for the second time, when they defeated Ballincollig 1-0 in the final.

1994 was the proudest year in the clubs history. The greatest prize in Junior football the FAI Junior Cup was won when they defeated New Ross 5-1 in the Final. Captain that day was Cyril Conran, who also had the distinction of being the FAI Junior Player of the Year. In that season the team lost only once out of a total of 43 matches which was in the Munster Junior Cup final against Mungret Regional 2-1. The club has since been twice semi-finalists in the competition and became one of the first 4 Junior clubs to compete in the FAI Senior Cup, in the 99-2000 season. That year the club reached the last 16 of the competition, losing out away to Bluebell Utd in a replay. The highlight of that cup run was a terrific 3-1 victory away to then Intermediate Cup Holders Rockmount.

The club had to wait another 20 years to lift Munster's Blue Riband Trophy. We were runners up in 1994, 97, 01, 04, 05. Thankfully the pain of losing those finals were erased when on the 12th May 2006 we defeated arch rivals St Michael's 2-1 in the Final. The scenes of pure joy at the end of that game will live long in the memory of everyone who was there in Cahir that famous night. Domestically Clonmel Town have been dominant over the past number of years winning the TSDL Premier League a record 6 times in a row between 2004 and 2009 amassing 16 League titles in all along with 13 Tipperary Cup titles. The B team have also came through the divisions each year scooping silverware along their way and have been valued asset to the first team since their reformation in 2004. On 24th of April 2010 our Youths captured the clubs 1st Munster Youths Cup by defeating the defending champions Cork City in their own backyard of Turners Cross 2-1 aet, this was a momentous occasion for everyone to savour a day after the clubs 47th birthday.

2015 was a fantastic year for our excellent Youth side who captured the clubs 2nd ever Munster Youths Cup. The final was the first ever all Tipperary clash against Nenagh AFC on 25th of April in Cooke Park winning 2-1 after extra time by virtue of a last minute free kick from Ryan Lambe. They also reached the semi-final of the FAI Youth Cup that year going down 3-1 to eventual winners Bohemians in Dublin. Unfortunately for injuries and suspensions it could have been a different story. They also captured the Tipperary Youth Cup in that season.

Many Clonmel Town players have gone to ply their trade in the League of Ireland. Sean Kiely not only played for Waterford in the League but also in 1980 played in the European Cup Winners Cup. Billy Lambe played for a number of clubs in the League of Ireland, Including Waterford, Thurles Town and Kilkenny. Whilst, Billy Byrne, Maurice Slater, Tommy Hewitt, Martin Quinlivan, Glen Conway, Tony Scully, Aaron Moroney and Paul Scully are others who played for Waterford Utd in the League of Ireland. Seamus Strappe enjoyed a number of seasons playing up front for Shelbourne. Stephen Napier was an outstanding player for both Dundalk and Cork City. Our most noted player without a doubt was Ollie Cahill who won several honours in the League of Ireland with Cork City, Shelbourne and Drogheda and will go down as one of its greatest players winning 5 League of Irelands and FAI & Setanta Cup medal. Ollie also scored twice in the Champions League and holds the record for most European appearances for an Irish domestic player with 41.

Also many Clonmel Town players have gone on to gain International caps with the Republic of Ireland Junior Team. Cyril Conran who captained the side and was also named Junior International Player of the Year, Stephen O'Neill, Aaron Moroney, Tony Norris, Tony Scully and Kevin Waters have all worn the green jersey with pride. Mark Power, Ian Barnes, Christy Aylward, Peter Acheson all at Schoolboy level and most recently Evan Comerford has also been capped.
During the early days, the club was managed in turn by Peter Bryan (former Oxford United, Waterford and Inter League player.) Shay Brennan (Man.Utd and Irish International RIP), Al Casey (RIP), Dave Kirby (Waterford). In addition, Clonmel locals Buddy Anderson, Danny Gibbons, Richie Blanche, Sean Kiely, Martin Quinlivan, Billy Byrne and Paddy Ryan and Jamie O'Flaherty.

One of the most successful managers in our modern era was Donegal native Charlie McGeever who managed us to an unprecedented 6 straight Premier League wins from 04 to 09, a Munster Junior Cup in 06 and 2 Tipperary Cups in 04 & 08 in just a 6 year reign. We also contested 3 Munster Junior Finals on the trot in 04, 05 & 06 and in 2010, narrowly beaten in 09 in an FAI Semi Final and also in 2010. That will go down as one of Town's golden eras.
Today Paul Scully is manager of the 1st Team while Robbie Kennedy manages the 2nd Team. The Youths squad is overseen by Jonathan O'Donoghue and Chris O'Flaherty whilst the future of the club, our Schoolboys are managed superbly by Levi Whelan, Evan McGuire, Brian McGrath, Micheal Kenny, Michael O'Reilly, Paul Scully, John O'Connor, Pat Hayes, Paul Dwyer, Jamie O’Flaherty, Ivan Barlow, Killian Smith to name just a few.

Munster Junior Cup Champions 1968

Munster Junior Cup Champions 1986

FAI Junior Cup Champions 1994

Munster Junior Cup Champions 2006

Munster Youth Cup Champions 2010

Munster Youth Cup Champions 2015


Last Updated on Friday, 08 April 2016 12:59